Menu Close

Alabama Municipal Revenue Officers Association

The Alabama Municipal Revenue Officers Association was conceived in the late 60’s when a group of forward thinking individuals recognized and promoted the importance of professional municipal revenue collection and enforcement.

Lead by Mobile Revenue Officer Jesse Hogan, a small group of inspired revenue officers including William (Bill) Koeppel (Tuscaloosa), Charles Smith (Decatur) and Earl Tisdale (Auburn) met with representatives of universities to develop training events. President Hogan, President-Elect Koeppel, Vice President Smith and Secretary/Treasurer Tisdale were elected and installed as the first officers of the Association in July, 1972.

Also in 1972, the Association’s first Constitution and By-Laws were adopted by the membership. In 1983, the Code of Ethics was adopted. The Association accepted a proposal from the University of Alabama in 1986 to conduct the Alabama Municipal Revenue Officer’s Certification Program. Ultimately the complexity of association activities as well as the size of the organization required incorporation in 1989. A new Constitution and Bylaws were adopted and the first Board of Directors was elected. The first group of Certified Municipal Revenue Officers received their certificates in 1990. Twice each year since then, another group of revenue officers receives certificates awarded jointly by AMROA, the University of Alabama and the Alabama League of Municipalities. The expertise and numbers of well-trained officials continues to grow with the support and stability of AMROA.


Linda Cleveland
City of Rainbow City


Kim Davidson
City of Lincoln

Vice President

Joan Brutkiewicz
City of Mobile


Keeble Dowdell
City of Birmingham


Toni Herman
City of Mobile